Orioles set 2019 opening day roster

The Orioles today officially set their 25-man roster for Opening Day. The roster includes 12 pitchers, two catchers, seven infielders, and four outfielders. Nine of the 25 players were on the Orioles’ 2018 Opening Day roster. Eight players are donning an Orioles jersey for the first time.

Two players will start the season on the 10-day Injured List, RHP Alex Cobb (right groin strain) and C Austin Wynns (left oblique strain), while OF Mark Trumbo (recovery from right knee surgery) will start the season on the 60-day Injured List.

The Orioles roster includes three rookies, while 11 different Orioles have made their first career Opening Day roster: LHP Paul Fry, RHP David Hess, INF Drew Jackson, INF Richie Martin, LHP John Means, OF Cedric Mullins, INF Renato Núñez, INF Rio Ruiz, C Pedro Severino, OF Dwight Smith Jr. and RHP Jimmy Yacabonis.

The Orioles open the 2019 campaign today at 1:05 p.m. ET at Yankee Stadium against the New York Yankees. RHP Andrew Cashner will make his first Opening Day start as a member of the Orioles, and the second of his career (2014, San Diego).


Pedro Araujo
Richard Bleier
Dylan Bundy
Andrew Cashner
Miguel Castro
Paul Fry
Mychal Givens
Davis Hess
John Means
Mike Wright
Jimmy Yacabonis


Pedro Severino
Jesús Sucre


Hanser Alberto
Chris Davis
Drew Jackson
Richie Martin
Renato Núñez
Rio Ruiz
Jonathan Villar


Trey Mancini
Cedric Mullins
Joey Rickard
Dwight Smith Jr.