Nats’ roster moves official, plus lineups

The Nationals have made it official, selecting the contract of infielder/outfielder Jeff Kobernus from Triple-A Syracuse and designating right-hander Yunesky Maya for assignment.

Yes, Kobernus’ position was listed on the official team press release as “infielder/outfielder”. The 2009 second-round pick is a career-long infielder, but he’s seen action in the outfield in 28 games for Syracuse this season.

In parts of five minor-league seasons (2009-2013), Kobernus batted .286 with 77 extra-base hits, 141 stolen bases and 189 runs scored.

The Nats now have seven relief pitchers and five position players on the bench. Danny Espinosa is in day No. 2 of his two or three day shutdown after doctors diagnosed him with a broken right wrist, so he’s unavailable again tonight.

Davey Johnson will trot out the same lineup from 1-8 in the batting order that he did last night.

Kurt Suzuki will bat sixth, Tyler Moore will play left field and hit seventh and Steve Lombardozzi will play second base and bat eighth.

Dan Haren gets the start for the Nats, coming off a rough outing his last time out, when he allowed seven earned runs over five innings in a loss to the Padres. The veteran right-hander is 4-5 with a 5.54 ERA this season.

The Phillies will send 22-year-old Jonathan Pettibone to the mound tonight. The rookie has made six starts this season in his first big league stint, going 3-0 with a 3.00 ERA.

He held the Reds to one run over seven innings his last time out.

For the Nats
CF Denard Span
RF Bryce Harper
3B Ryan Zimmerman
1B Adam LaRoche
SS Ian Desmond
C Kurt Suzuki
LF Tyler Moore
2B Steve Lombardozzi
RHP Dan Haren

For the Phillies
SS Jimmy Rollins
2B Freddy Galvis
3B Michael Young
1B Ryan Howard
RF Delmon Young
LF Domonic Brown
C Erik Kratz
CF Ben Revere
RHP Jonathan Pettibone

blog comments powered by Disqus