Mullins chosen as Silver Slugger finalist

No Orioles player has won a Silver Slugger Award since Mark Trumbo in 2016.

Cedric Mullins will attempt to break the streak.

Mullins is among eight American League outfielders nominated for the honor, which recognizes the top offensive players at every position. Three are chosen for the outfield, whether in left, center or right.

Recognition keeps coming to Mullins, the first player in Orioles history with 30 home runs and 30 stolen bases in the same season. He’s also a finalist for the Major League Baseball Players Association Comeback Player of the Year in the AL, along with teammate Trey Mancini and Seattle’s Mitch Haniger.

Haniger joins Mullins, New York’s Aaron Judge, Boston’s Hunter Renfroe, Tampa Bay’s Randy Arozarena, Toronto’s Teoscar Hernández and Lourdes Gurriel Jr. and Houston’s Kyle Tucker as finalists for the Silver Slugger.

Mullins-HR-Swing-Gray-Sidebar.jpgMullins had a breakout season in 2021 after deciding to bat exclusively from the left side, and two years after his demotion to Double-A Bowie. He was the lone Orioles representative at the All-Star Game in Colorado and hit .291 with 37 doubles, five triples and an .878 OPS. He tied Kyle Schwarber for most leadoff home runs with eight.

Mullins is the 12th player in major league history to record at least 30 home runs, 35 doubles, five triples, and 30 steals in a season, and the first since Mookie Betts in 2018.

There’s also a good chance that Mullins, the unanimous choice for Most Valuable Oriole as voted by the local media, will be nominated for a Gold Glove Award.

His 146 starts in center field were the second-most in the majors behind Myles Straw’s 149, and his 11 outs above average, per Statcast, tied for fourth-most by a player at his position.

In existence since 1980, the Silver Slugger winners are chosen managers and coaches who are unable to vote for players on their own teams.

Winners will be announced on Nov. 11 at 6 p.m. on MLB Network.

Trumbo won his Silver Slugger as a designated hitter. The last Orioles position players to receive the honor are Adam Jones (center field), Chris Davis (first base) and J.J. Hardy (shortstop) in 2013.

blog comments powered by Disqus